☆ The Art of Appreciation ☆

Image

William James, an American philosopher and psychologist, once said, “The deepest principle in human nature is the craving to be appreciated.” 

It is true that appreciation can boost one’s self-esteem! As stated in the Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs theory, when one gains self-esteem, he or she will eventually gain self-actualisation (i.e. contentment, morality, lack of prejudice, etc.). In spirituality, self-actualisation is considered as one of the highest vibrational energy level that one can have — unconditional love, selflessness, compassionate, mercy and grace. Hence, cultivation of appreciation is very significant! Moreover, it can help to build new friendships, and even improve your existing relationships as well! 

Yesterday, I unexpectedly stumbled upon a video by Arielle Ford, the author of The Soulmate Secret. She was talking about Wabi Sabi Love, and shared with the audience about her experiences as well as her friends’. It was interesting as everything she’d mentioned revolved around gratefulness, appreciation and being thankful, “A shift in perception!” she said. 

Wabi Sabi Love is indeed true, and I’ve experienced it as well! I believe that many of us have experienced this unconsciously or unexpectedly as well. In order for you to understand Wabi Sabi love better, I’ll illustrate with my personal experience! 🙂

So, this has happened a few weeks back while I was still having my exams, and my mom was working. Everything was a mess at home — the couch was covered with unfolded clothes, the dining table was a mess, and there was just so many things going on at that time! I was horrified, frustrated and annoyed at why my mother wasn’t doing anything about them. The sight was awful, especially after I came home from an extremely tiring and horrible day in school. My stress level was so high that I started crying while folding the clothes, and scolding my mom mentally simultaneously. I was literally drained, feeling guilty and miserable as hell!

After folding the clothes, I went to the kitchen to get a cup of water. That was when my mind was cleared and I felt truly thankful. What was I exactly thankful for?! It was silly. I was grateful that my mom had boiled the water in the morning before she went for work, so that I can have water to drink. Also, I was grateful that she was the one who’d washed the clothes, and I have clean clothes to wear! The revelation hit me like a truck. My mom had done so much for me already, why was I still complaining and whining so much like a spoilt brat?! Oh no… Again, I started crying, thankful that she wasn’t here to witness my tantrum and thankful that she didn’t hear what I’d scolded her mentally. Finally, I thank God for having my mother in my life! 

Has anyone of you actually experienced this before? You scold your children for being naughty and not being obedient. You blame your spouses for switching on the television so loudly that you felt really irritated. You dislike your parents for having high blood pressure, and passing this heredity symptom to you. There are so many more examples, but these are just some that came into my mind! 

Image

Always remember:

‘The greatest asset I possess, and the way to develop the best that is in a person is by appreciation and encouragement!’ 

Start your day with these attributes — positive, motivating, encouraging & appreciative! 

Image

Much love, light, gratitude & angel blessings to everyone ❤ 

 

One thought on “☆ The Art of Appreciation ☆

Leave a Reply

